All things counter, original, spare and strange in Khujand, Tajikistan

My Life in Dundee

With only a week and a half left of work at Signpost before I head out to travel Scotland, it’s beginning to feel as if my time here is coming to a close.  That means it is all the more important to squeeze every drop of goodness out of the next few weeks.

Lately I’ve been hanging out with Signpost’s Going Global team, a group of students taking a gap year to work with Signpost.  They got back from the Philippines last week.  They’re a really great group.  One of the sad but lovely things about this summer is that I’ve made so many friends who I’ll never see again.  Two weeks with a group of people is just enough to form the basis for a great friendship.  Oh well.  We’ve got facebook.

Last night I wrote down a few things that I’m promising myself to remember forever:

The sunset tinting the huge sea-built clouds pink and blue.

The rise and fall of old Reverend Murdoch McCloud’s voice as he prays; how it has little to do with the words but operates on a logic of its own.

The excitement of poetry as performance practiced by Paradox, KP (Kip the Poet) and the druids at Stonehenge.

My conversations about the Kingdom of God with Elias from Sudan in Cardiff and with Kelly, Monika and Graeme back at Signpost.

How to say A Salam A Lakem.

That this summer in Scotland was the first time I really articulated to others my desire to make writing my profession.

One response

  1. beautifulheritage

    You are a gifted writer who is already producing great work. Hopefully the world will soon recognize it also!

    I wanted to mention how much I have enjoyed your pictures as well as your writing. You have a knack for framing a photo!

    July 12, 2007 at 4:12 pm

Leave a Reply

