All things counter, original, spare and strange in Khujand, Tajikistan

God is good

It’s amazing to me just how perfectly what Signpost needed in an intern (a kid with some knowledge of development work and basic computing skills who’s willing to do anything) turned out to match what I could provide.

It’s also incredible how my summer turned out to be precisely what I wanted. I wanted to get experience in development work, and I wanted to go to Great Britain (talk about American arrogance, at least we don’t put “great” in front of our country’s name! But I digress.). Before the position at Signpost came up, I hadn’t thought of those two goals as compatible.

More than simply fulfilling my desires, my experience this summer has been over and above what I could have thought or imagined. The level of input I’m able to give at Signpost is incredible. I was given the freedom to rewrite one of their grant programs, then given the responsibility of communicating with one of the applicants from India! Words like “community ownership, “vulnerability,” and “sustainability” flew thick in the air. Finally my formal education was becoming useful! For one brief moment the classroom melded with the workplace and nirvana was achieved.

So basically, what I’m saying is, it’s as if God said to me, “Seth, I love you, and that doesn’t always mean giving you what you want, but this summer it does. So here you go. Enjoy.”

For these brief months the will of God has seemed like a broad road, gleaming with reflective road signs all pointed in the same direction. I know it’s not always like that, so all I can do is thank God for His blessings now, and let him take care of the future, whichever way the road may wind.

One response

  1. petabread

    All I can say: “Praise tha lord, brotha, a–men!!”

    July 15, 2007 at 7:07 am

Leave a Reply

