All things counter, original, spare and strange in Khujand, Tajikistan

The Pilgrimage

Well, my week of traveling is almost upon me.  I’ve spent half of today feeling sick (darn you Pizza Hut!) and the other half feeling thankful I’m not sick.  It is so good to have a belly full of pasta after a day of not eating.  Mmm, pasta with sauce so meaty it was more like sloppy joes than spaghetti.  I am satisfied.

That aside, I can’t wait to get on the road.  Tomorrow I meet Matt Brown and cohorts for a few days of highlands adventure, then I break away and head to the Isle of Skye on my own.  It feels like I’m preparing for a pilgrimage, but it’s a very hazy, undefined, wishy-washy kind of pilgrimage, where I won’t know its purpose until after it’s over, if then.  In other words, it is exactly the kind of pilgrimage I’m likely to take.  I can’t wait.

Once I get back I’ll post pictures and try to tell you all about it, but experience has shown that I am very poor at summing up a week of adventure.  Nonetheless, I’ll give you snapshots as best I can.  Until next week, God bless!

Leave a Reply

