All things counter, original, spare and strange in Khujand, Tajikistan

Goodbye Dundee!

I just took my last evening walk in Dundee.  I’ve spent all day saying goodbye to some of my favorite places, and taking pictures of them.  Groucho’s Records, Vintage Strings, the arts center, and Tartan Coffee.  All great places.  I also stopped in to Signpost for one last time to say farewell.  Oh, and I picked up a copy of Harry Potter.  I love Harry Potter.

Here’s my journal entry for tonight:

The Tay is a deep cool blue this evening, the color of cordial, hesitant goodbyes.  The railway bridge shudders at the train’s passing and the feather in my fingers pulls away with the wind just as I am pulling away, drawn on by my stream of existence, following the voices of my plans and hopes and dreams and trying hard to hear God amidst the din like music barely audible between crashing breakers.

But tomorrow!  Tomorrow the haste of packing, the anxious pit in my stomach telling me I’m forgetting something, the buses from Dundee to Perth and from Perth to Edinburgh, the planes from Edinburgh to London and from London to Philadelphia.  Then Mark!  A friend made in two semesters and kept for life.  Now I get two short days with that man.

Then home!  Strange that home is more a waystation than a destination now.  And yet it is important.  Lindsay preparing to leave for college, Mom and Dad preparing to empty their nest. Mom is especially changing her way of life and going back to work as a teacher of other’s children.  I pray she does as well with them as she did with us.

Beyond that, fond reunions and new friends at Covenant.  It will be a glorious time.

Goodbye Dundee!  Goodbye Becky and Amy and David and Annabelle and Emma Jane and Dave Hendo and Hugh and Graeme and Deuan and Jenny and Darren and everyone at St. Peter’s and Kelly and Monika and both Davids and Isabelle and Dean and Mike!  I’ll miss you.

One response

  1. i found your site from scott steere’s blog. you have a way of capturing a moment and pulling others in. this piece took me. i like your sentences…specially this one, “The railway bridge shudders at the train’s passing and the feather in my fingers pulls away with the wind just as I am pulling away, drawn on by my stream of existence,”

    you make enjoyable comparisons and pictures with your words. keep writing. (!)

    July 31, 2007 at 3:43 pm

Leave a Reply

