All things counter, original, spare and strange in Khujand, Tajikistan

Back in the EBP

Well, I’m back in my dorm room, aka the Eligible Bachelor’s Pad or the EBP.  It’s empty in here with out Alex, James, Colin, Peter and Drew, who will be sharing this space with me for the next two semesters, God willing.  I am here early because I am a member of Student Senate.  The summer is almost over.

So how am I different?  What would you take from me if you could make all the rain fall up, and all of the buses and trains and planes run backwards until I was back at home on May 13th?

I think you’d strip from me a full sense of my own confidence (my trust in myself) and along with it the knowledge that this is not the same as courage, which has more to do with trust in God I think.  You’d also take away many friends and burn away countless landscapes worthy of an artist’s canvas which I’ve tucked safely right behind my eyes.

You’d take valuable knowledge about how a development organization works, tons of random historical facts and a lot of solid traveling know-how.  You’d steal my well-traveled eyes and rub off the calluses on my feet.

Most tragically, if you could somehow thieve away this summer, you’d rob me of an immense well of gratitude to God for blessing me with two and a half months worth of life in Dundee.

So the Dundee Days are over.  I think this blog will continue however.  I’m always writing something, so this may provide a good way to get people to read it.  Thank you all for reading over the summer.  I’ll need to think of a new title though…I’ll get working on that.  In the mean time, God bless and Godspeed.

One response

  1. sexmorgan-
    so good to know your back on the EBP. covcol just wouldnt be the same without you. spent time with drew belz and jimboy a few days ago. ill be seeing you in a few weeks, bud.

    August 14, 2007 at 1:51 am

Leave a Reply

