All things counter, original, spare and strange in Khujand, Tajikistan

New Title

So I’ve finally changed the title.  I guess that means I’ll have to write about something other than Scotland.  My life is full here at Covenant.  I’m Junior Class President.  Here’s my cabinet:

Alex, Miriam, Heather, Will and I are responsible for helping the Junior class have a rockin’ time this year.  It’s gonna be good.  It’s also going to be very busy.  The other important thing in my life write now is Creative Writing Fiction, a class that will force me to write every day.  The first assignment was to write ten first sentences for stories.  Here are mine (note that when I write in the voice of a character–which is always–I use language the way that character would use it, so please don’t be offended by the use of an expletive in what follows):

1. Who are you?

 
2. “Divorced with seven children” is a very poor way to begin a personals ad.

 
3. You must know that by picking this up you are implicated, drawn into the matters of phantasms—for ghost I am and ghost you may be by the time we are finished.

 
4. Last thing I remember I was falling, but that was a long time ago judging by the blood.

 
5. Nicholas had disgusting eyes.

 
6. Chuck was a walking course description for bad-ass 101.

 
7. It takes a special kind of crazy to kill a man.

 
8. Talking to Aunt Marie is like running down an up escalator after a few too many drinks.

 
9. I’ve always wondered what could be so very wrong about milking a cat.

 
10. Keeping warm is difficult when you’re stripped naked under fluorescent lights.

 

So that’s a little slice.  I’ll probably mainly post other things I write for that class.  Read ’em if you want.

Leave a Reply

