All things counter, original, spare and strange in Khujand, Tajikistan

This week I began visiting English Access programs around Dushanbe to give presentations about my home town. English Access is a program of the US State Department which partners with educational institutions around the world to offer scholarships to low-income students so they can study English for two years. It is understandably a favorite program among the English teachers here. The students are motivated, and wouldn’t be able to study this material any other way.

So I went to Nasli Navras (New Generation) today, one of the local English Access partners and talked about Bartlesville, the state of Oklahoma and its many attractions. Then I introduced them to my musical hero, Woody Guthrie. If you don’t know Woody, you don’t know America, in my opinion, so of course this formed an important part of there cultural education. Happily, Tajik students love to sing, so they joined me in a lusty chorus of “This Land is Your Land” to finish off. Unfortunately I forgot my camera, but next week I will visit another program and post some pictures. As substitute, some other examples of Oklahoma culture. Okies, did I get it right?

One response

  1. Lawana Brewer

    GREAT JOB, Seth. I’m sure we could get LOTS more pictures of Oklahoma but I don’t know how much you Tajik students could/would want to know. You gave them a great sampling and I, too, love “This Land Is Your Land”!

    September 23, 2010 at 8:23 pm

Leave a Reply

