All things counter, original, spare and strange in Khujand, Tajikistan

The Journey Home Part 1

This has been a year full of hard goodbyes. From the time I left Chattanooga, Tennessee to begin this adventure up to now, I have had to say farewell to more people than I ever thought possible. And my goodbyes from Khujand were some of the hardest. So to begin this brief retrospective, here are some images of the lovely people I had to leave behind.

My students at American Corner:

Including these break dancers, who performed at my goodbye party:

Naturally, my host bro Amirjon:

And the rest of the host family. Here is Nasim and Mansura, making osh–another thing I miss:

And my Tajik grandmother, Mukhadas, with the finished product:

I think I can honestly say that I’ve never said goodbye more times than the day before I left Khujand. But that’s the way of it. If it’s not worth missing, then it’s not worth visiting. That’s what I say. So goodbye, my friends! I miss you. But that’s a good thing. It means we meant something to each other.

The travels begin next post.

Leave a Reply

